The 3 lies people tell

lies

After studying on the subject of deception; I’m hesitant writing about it. I do not want it to come across as negative or insinuate that people shouldn’t be trusted, and that you have to keep a constant guard up waiting on someone to tell you a whopper.

I do, however, feel it’s important for ALL leaders to be able to read the environment that’s being created around them by other people. Being able to detect and pick up on clues can stop an issue before it starts and strengthen your team of all-stars.

If you’ve ever watched any episode of Law and Order, you heard the people who approach the witness stand be sworn in. “Do you swear to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth so help you God?” This oath is well thought out and has stood the test of time.

For more get the eBook:

howleadersmanagecover1

 

 

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/501032

13 thoughts on “The 3 lies people tell

  1. This is such a great post, thank you! You need to call it as it is and not let people slide by on half-truths. Have a great Wednesday evening 🙂

  2. Thanks Tina. That means a lot. When someone acts irritated when questioned, is also a red flag. Have a good night.

  3. I couldn’t agree more that a good leader has the capacity to read the environment being created. Often times, one of my sales rep’s “truths” in the moment was absolutely a misguided perception by the influenced situation vs. her/his own self truth. A great leader knows the difference, and thank you for such a great post to remind us of this! And thank you for your support of my recent writing as well! 🙂

  4. joshsherin says:

    Great post! I have a precarious situation myself as I am an elementary school teacher so I do find myself, “not giving the whole truth.” I never like to lie to my students, but there are sometimes when I omit details that may distract them from the task at hand, or get us involved in conversation topics I’d much rather avoid with an 11 year old.

  5. Josh, you’re right. Sometimes too many details leave people with a bad sense of direction. It sounds like you are just clearing the clutter and focusing everyone in the same direction. ; )

  6. Tracy Boff says:

    I have heard may things over the years and I will never say I have heard it all because it never fails…someone comes up with something even better. I have to say though, I really try not to let it jade me to those individuals who give it thier all and are working hard day in and out. I know I have many of those individuals on my staff and those are ones that I think take resposnbility. For those other individuals, they not only are cheating their organization and clients, but they are cheating themselves out of true opportunity.

    • You’re right. The bad thing about it is that people normally spend more time and energy being dishonest and trying to justify or cover it up than actually doing things the right way

  7. Ian Munro says:

    This is a really interesting post and has some great information, but overall I’m not sure I’m with you on this one. And the reason is right up front in your post .. in pursuing falsehoods you create an environment of negativity and distrust. I think our job as a leader is to create a space for our people to contribute. When we pursue potential falsehoods, we collapse that space, and worse perhaps, alert that person that we’re onto them and push them into more creative story telling. My approach woudl be to continue to open a space for that person to enter into to contribute to the team, and if they don’t enter, and don’t contribute, that is the real crux of the matter.

  8. Ian, are you sure you’re not with me on this? I have a feeling you’re lying. ha ha just kidding. Have a great afternoon

  9. […] Holden author of Today’s Manger blog wrote great article titled “The 3 lies people tell.” He gives excellent insight on how you […]

  10. wordpress123 says:

    Multiple probing questions like what?

Leave a Reply

