Should you use an Elevator Pitch?

elevator-bank

Definition – The “elevator pitch” describes a short presentation of an idea, business, or a person’s qualifications. It is meant to convey a precise and persuasive synopsis very quickly (about the time it takes to ride an elevator with someone).

An elevator pitch is the most painful 30 seconds you can encounter with someone. The fortunate thing is you will only spend 30 seconds with that person giving you their spill, because you will run for the nearest exit. A few months ago, I attended a Chamber of Commerce business event. When I would approach someone to engage in conversation, each person would introduce themselves followed by trying to glaze my eyes over and rock me to sleep, with the most boring and canned explanation of what they do at their business. YUCK!

It sounded like this to me, “Hi. It’s nice to meet you. My name is __________. I am a (whatever their job title is) at (whatever company). We’ve been providing years of exceptional service for people who are looking to blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah. Sorry, I actually zoned out writing this.

I understood the original purpose of the elevator pitch. It was to give people information about yourself and what you do to make a memorable impression. The area where this fails is that it doesn’t engage the other person in conversation so you become a boring walking advertisement. Giving an elevator pitch, you don’t connect with the other person. So if you’re doing this, please stop. It’s torturous.

So when you are asked what you do for a living, you can replace the elevator speech with a short sentence that causes the other person to ask more questions. You can then engage them in a deeper conversation and not send them running for the nearest exit.

Let me give you some examples. Instead of telling them what you do, make it interesting by telling them a little portion of the benefits you provide.

What do you do?
If you’re a financial planner – “I help people retire early.”
If you’re a real estate agent- “I establish families.”
If you’re an author- “I write books.”
If you’re a garbage man- “I keep people healthy”
If you’re a pest control technician- “I kill unwanted guests.”
If you’re a baby sitter –“I help people keep their sanity.”
If you’re any type of manager- “I train leaders.”

You can probably come up with a thousand different phrases to say to someone. No matter what you say or how you say it, the response you’re looking for is “Really? Tell me more.” If your phrase doesn’t get that reaction, fine tune it until it does. Then you can open up an authentic conversation.

Don’t be boring. Drop the elevator pitch and be interesting. When I hear an elevator pitch, I step off the next time the door opens, whether it’s my floor or not!

7 thoughts on “Should you use an Elevator Pitch?

  1. Love this! Thanks for dropping by my place — I’m glad you lead me here. And I promise…. I’ll do my best to not be boring 🙂

  2. joshsherin says:

    Great advice, and great post. I’m currently getting my MBA and at the beginning of every course everyone introduces themselves with an elevator pitch. I completely agree with you that they are extremely cheesy and insincere, and they really come across like an overly rehearsed infomercial. “But wait. . . .there’s more!” I have always felt that you get so much more with a quality hello, and a genuine conversation. Thanks for the great read.

  3. Josh, you’re right. If you can train yourself to be more interested in the person you are talking to than yourself, they will seek you out, regardless of what you do. People don’t care about you until they feel you care about them.

  4. Tabitha says:

    I do accept as true with all the concepts you’ve offered to your post.
    They’re very convincing and can definitely work.

    Nonetheless, the posts are too brief for beginners.
    May you please prolong them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post.

  5. We absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for.

    Do you offer guest writers to write content to suit
    your needs? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on most of the subjects
    you write about here. Again, awesome web log!

  6. First of all I want to say superb blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask
    if you don’t mind. I was interested to know how
    you center yourself and clear your mind before writing.
    I have had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts
    out. I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems
    like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips?

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

