The scorpion and the frog

FROG & SCORPIONThere’s an old adage that describes human nature.

 

There was a scorpion who wanted to cross a stream of water.  On the bank he saw a frog and asked if the frog would give him a ride to the other side. 

 

“Oh no,” says the frog. “If I carry you on my back you will sting me.” 

 

“But why would I sting you when you are doing me a favor?  Besides if I stung you, we would both perish because I can’t swim.” replied the scorpion. 

 

The frog eventually conceded that the scorpion had a point and agreed to the scorpion’s request.  The frog trusted the scorpion, but was worried that he would be stung all the way across the stream. Sure enough half way across the scorpion stings the frog.    

 

“But why did you break your word and sting me?  I trusted you.  Now we are both going to drown!”  The frog cried. 

 

“Because I AM A SCORPION. 

For more get the eBook:

Shape Your Character in 47 Days cover 4   https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/433783

8 thoughts on “The scorpion and the frog

  1. Jamie says:

    Your post reminds me of why it also helps to adopt a “don’t take anything personally” attitude. When someone is doing what comes naturally it helps to remind ourselves that it’s about them not about us.

    • That’s so true Jamie. The other day I had a guy come to me very upset, telling how he couldn’t believe another person he worked with lied to him. I asked if he had ever lied before. He said the guy lies all the time. Then I looked him square in the face and said, “then why are you mad?”

  2. valencia139 says:

    This was a great post! Someone wisely said, “When people show you who they really are, believe them.”

  3. Thanks for the words of encouragement. It shows who YOU really are. (an encourager)

  4. I have always loved this tale. Thank you for sharing. There is such wisdom in recognizing a person for what he or she does, never only for what (s)he says. The TRUTH is available for all to see, if only we would. Good stuff.

  5. I will always believe the best in others – that’s in my nature. I’ll always be disappointed when they don’t live up to it; however, since I’m also a big believer in “it’s work, not personal”, I don’t hold onto it. I just learn the lesson and move on! (Of course, in my personal life I’m more apt to repeat the mistake, but I’m okay with that too! I’ll always be okay when I err on the side of believing in others! ) Great post!

Leave a Reply

