Don’t work with people who need it

helping-hand

Earlier in my career, I automatically knew the importance of goal setting.  I had a whopper of a goal. I wanted everyone that worked for me to be a huge success.  Learning from Zig Ziglar, I realized that if I helped enough people get what they wanted, I would get what I wanted. 

There was a slight problem in my thinking, however.  I assumed that others wanted to be as successful as I wanted them to be.  I spent hours, days, weeks, and months training, pushing, and ended up doing most of the work for them.  I was working harder than they were, but I was doing it for everyone.  It almost killed me.  If you rank people on skill level and drive for excellence from 1-10; I had a bunch of twos and threes.  I was trying to make them eights, nines, and tens.  That was too big of a jump for them at one time.

I learned this from one of my mentors.  Work with the people who deserve it, not the people who need it.  The cost of working with the unwilling is 10-15 times the hourly rate.  I was doing all this back breaking work and it wasn’t paying off.  In fact, it was costing me more than any results we were getting.  They actually had become dependent on me to do the difficult things.  I cared more than they did.  I wanted success for them so badly and they couldn’t have cared less.

The lesson learned was invaluable. Work with those who deserve it, not the ones who need it.   I should only care about those who care (work wise).  I will offer them a helping hand, but will no longer put them on my back.  Jim Rohn put it this way, “You can help a thousand, but not with three on your back.”

Those who plant in the fall will have a harvest in the spring.  Why work with someone who hasn’t planted.  There will be no work to do when it’s harvest time.  So as a leader, you must show them how to plant in the fall.  You must teach them how to deserve it.  If you step forward, I’ll step forward.  If you take this certain action, I’ll take a certain action.  God teaches people to do the same thing.  He doesn’t say, “I’m going to make you perfect whether you like it or not.”  He says, “Knock and the door will be opened, seek and you will find, call and I will answer, open your heart and I will come in, ask and it shall be given to you.”  He requires us to take action.  When we do He rewards us.

As a leader, your time and personal investments are valuable.  Work with the people who deserve it.  Spend individual time with 20% (the 8s, 9s, and 10s).  Spend group time with the 80% (the 4s, 5s, and 6s).  Just show the 4s, 5s and 6s how to deserve it and how they can become 8s, 9s, and 10s.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Don’t work with people who need it

  1. raschmaltz says:

    This stuff is so true and trips up so many people with potential that they waste in the wrong places. I really like your blog, it’s full of good, helpful advice.

  2. Thank you so much. I looked at your site also. Very good stuff. If anyone hasn’t looked at it, I suggest it.

Leave a Reply

