How to respond to outrageous claims

cute-animals-laughing-panda-bear

 

I work and have worked with some of the smartest and witty people you may have ever met.  One person in particular is mentally sharper than anyone I’ve ever been around.  If you come at him aggressive and unprepared he will likely perform verbal judo on you so fast it will leave your head spinning.  One of the reasons I love spending time with him is that it hones my own skills and enables me to be on top of my mental game.

 

 

For more get the eBook:

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/483259

enviroment cover

 

 

Tagged , , ,

15 thoughts on “How to respond to outrageous claims

  1. xaositecture says:

    This sort of fighting humor with humor is a server’s bread and butter. In my restaurant, if someone makes a snide comment about the portions or prices, it is always best to come back with humor. Some would say it’s best to build value in your product to quell the skepticism, but I find that humor leaves a satisfied guest nearly every time. Smart post.

    • You’re completely correct. Humor can make problems seem small and insignificant. Its the same thing as when I would whine about something and my older brother would mock me, The whining stopped immediately.

  2. Justin Buck says:

    Great point, Cranston. When I was a kid, I traveled all over the country selling pitch items like the ShamWOW. People love to heckle comedians and pitch salesmen. Too often I would grow enraged– if a heckler messed up a pitch, he could be costing me literally hundreds of dollars! Just like those great YouTube videos we see of comedians dealing with hecklers, I found out they could actually enhance the entertainment value of the pitch and draw a bigger crowd. Bigger crowds=bigger profits.

    If you allow a heckler to shape the image of your company, you’ve totally lost. The great salesmen (and the great leaders) turn hecklers into helpers as they craft their “pitch”.

  3. Steve Morgan says:

    Great post. Like how humor disarms! Enjoyed reading this. Thanks for visiting my blog also!

  4. Joe Shuford says:

    Great words of wisdom. I think you are a true salesman at heart 🙂

  5. petiteroussebleu says:

    Reblogged this on petiteroussebleu and commented:
    Loved it so much I practiced it. It’s quite fun not giving a shit.

  6. windhound says:

    A perfect post – humour really works and at the very least there will be one person enjoying the joke. Many thanks for finding and following dragonshades, proof positive that you have a sense of humour.

  7. naatakia says:

    Reblogged this on Poetry Et Al.

  8. naatakia says:

    I really like this post…a must practice; I need to know for myself if its really going to work in my part of the world… 🙂 Great read, thanks for sharing.

  9. metal spinning says:

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz answer back as I’m looking to design my own blog
    and would like to find out where u got this from. thanks a lot

Leave a Reply

