Give someone a reputation to live up to

reputation

People like to know that other people believe in them.   I will always remember when I was in search for my first full time job.  During an interview at a company, I spoke to the leader in the organization for that location.  He told me that he didn’t want to let me get away because I was going to do something special and he wanted me to do it there.  I accepted the job and on my first day, my new boss Dannie (which he insisted that I call him by his first name), showed me around and introduced me to everyone.

 

For more get the eBook:

howleadersmanagecover1

 

 

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/501032

Tagged , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “Give someone a reputation to live up to

  1. […] Give someone a reputation to live up to (todaysmanager.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Joe Shuford says:

    Great words of wisdom! I appreciate the concept, and wording, of “Give someone a reputation to live up to”.

  3. Rajiv says:

    I pretty much agree with much of what you say. Typically, we point out mistakes. We don’t build people as much as we should/

    • You’re right. As I look back on my life, I have been so lucky to have key people who have given me a good reputation at the right times. I’m sure you feel the same.

  4. Jo Murphy says:

    “The Circle of Praise.” I really do like that Jo

  5. Cranston, what a great story. What a smart boss you had. Applying this to my office, I can tell our patients as they encounter our various staff members ” that they are going to given the best care by ? Because we only have the best to serve our patients”. This will not only make the patients feel comforted but it will make my great staff live up to their reputation.

    Thank you, and have a great Sunday

    Tina

    • Jo Murphy says:

      Yes this whole strategy grows on you as you think about it, Jo

      • Tina, you always have the best advise. People would be wise to listen to you.

        Ms Murphy, I hope you try this and let me know how it goes. I’m sure with a smile like you have a compliment that comes from you will light up someone’s day. Have a good day.

  6. Kent Dunbar says:

    Love the “Circle of Praise” idea. Thanks for sharing.

  7. […] Cranston Holden goes back to his first fulltime job to share a lesson he's never forgotten, and one that has never stopped helping others. Give people a reputation to live up to. In this heartfelt recollection Cranston reviews the energy and motivation he felt trying to meet the condifdence and public praise of his first boss. Think managers can't motivate? Read Cranston […]

  8. cindyhfrench says:

    First, let me say thank you for following my blog. It’s subject matter is not exactly about being a good manager of course but about allowing God’s Spirit to so work in you, that you are a great manager, mother or father, wife or husband, employer, or just plain person.
    As I re-read the blog this morning, I realized I didn’t even make paragraph’s or really edit much and now I will go back and edit it a bit and re-publish with a note that I have done so!
    I find it quite extraordinary that you have chosen to follow me in spite of that!

    I would invite you to come back read some in my archives. It will give you a good sense of who I am and where I have come from.
    Cindy
    Again, I thank you.

  9. kalabalu says:

    Praise and flattery so close and yet apart. Praise is positive and flattery..that negates many aspects. Living up to a reputation..that you built..is easy..because you lived it in the process while you were at it…and when someone just accepts you/your credentials..that makes it challenging..because you now have to earn it too..you got it on trial basis 😉 i.e. free

  10. My boss and I do this all the time – I just never had the phrase for it! It is very important for the employees and co-workers and also for those outside the company, shows that we focus on the positives of our staff members.

  11. Planting Potatoes says:

    very good

Leave a Reply

