Turn Your Car into a Mobile Classroom

car

Each day the average American spends between one and two hours driving to and from work.  Yearly we spend well over 300 hours of our lives in our car.  It’s the equivalent of 38 work days of driving.  Another way to look at it is 13 straight 24 hour days.  Wow!

 

So the real question is what are you doing during that time? Are you listening to sports radio, news talk, or a cd you’ve heard a million times? Maybe you turn the music off and just enjoy the road.   If you were to ask the typical employed person if he had time to add anything extra like college to his life, he would likely say of course not.

 

But what if you took the advice of some of the world’s great thought leaders like Zig Ziglar, Brian Tracy, and Jim Rohn?   Turn your car into a mobile classroom.  Darren Hardy is well known for saying that his car doesn’t move without gas in the tank and an instructional cd in the player.

 

Each year is equivalent to two advanced courses in college.  Imagine, the time you spend driving you could earn a PHD in leadership, sales, management, relationships, a second language, etc.  Any subject you find significant you can receive more than enough instruction to become an expert in that particular field.  The amazing thing is you do not have to find the extra time. It’s time you would be spending anyway; just driving.

 

Does this give you a competitive advantage over the guy who spends his mornings driving to work listening to talk show rants, commercials telling him how he can’t be happy until he buys his widget, and then flips over to a sad song about someone’s spouse leaving them?  YOU BET!

 

Become a student driver. 

 

Shape Your Character in 47 Days cover 4   https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/433783

 

 

Tagged , , , , ,

23 thoughts on “Turn Your Car into a Mobile Classroom

  1. Hi Cranston, I do this and sometimes I wish I had more driving to do. I listen to Italian lessons and also several motivational speakers. It makes for a great commute!

    • I feel the same way. I invest in at least one instructional program a month. To have enough time to repeatedly listen to them, I pop them into an old school Walkman and listen during my daily exercise routine.

  2. Joe Shuford says:

    Great advice! I used to listen to instructional or motivational cd’s all the time. Zig Ziggler was one of my favorites. Thanks for the reminder.

  3. Hi Cranston – this has been part of my daily routine for several years. It’s a great way to learn.

  4. waflay says:

    Time management topics always leaves a question in my mind, “did you understand it cool?” It seems people like me waste a lot of time just relaxing instead of doing something productive. Great points, a lesson worth learning.

  5. Jamie says:

    I agree and might I also suggest NPR. Much of their programming is quite educational and interesting. Great post!

  6. pastormack says:

    I’m a big believer in what Zig callsed “Automobile University.”

  7. bonditramcat says:

    excellent idea. I actually first thought you meant TEACHING your followers something whilst you’re driving. But learning is equally – if not more – valid.

  8. craigskipsey says:

    I make it a habit of listening to TED and YouTube videos during my commute. And I’ve learnt an enormous amount just in doing this! Thanks for liking and following my blog too!

  9. Makes me glad my commute is walking down the hall! Good point though, my mom loves her audio books when she is driving and frequently throws in a motivational book.

  10. I think the admin of this website is actually working hard for his web page, for the reason that here every information is quality based
    stuff.

  11. I’ve been surfing on-line more than three hours today, but I
    by no means discovered any interesting article like yours.
    It is lovely value enough for me. In my view, if
    all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did,
    the net shall be much more helpful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

