Should People Ever Become Angry?

anger-management-hulk1

If you influence people in any way, which you probably do, you should be the epitome of calm.  You are expected to remain cool under pressure.   People depend on you to keep a good head, because when some people become angry, they become STUPID.

 

Some people believe that when the feeling of anger hits them, they should feel guilty.  They feel as if they shouldn’t fall victim to those emotions, because it is possible to lose control and make bad decisions and poor judgments in their relationships.

 

The reality is; a leader can and SHOULD…

For more get the eBook:

Shape Your Character in 47 Days cover 4   https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/433783

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

29 thoughts on “Should People Ever Become Angry?

  1. Excellent point! Emotions are okay and healthy but not to let them rule you and your actions.

  2. Your comments anger me. ………. ; ) just kidding. Have a good night.

  3. Great post Cranston. Just attended a conference that had a great workshop on handling anger, others and your own.

  4. Reblogged this on sbutterfield91 and commented:
    Totally agree x

  5. Another good lesson. As people who lead people we must acknowledge anger in the heart, move it to the head, respond to it from the gut and resolve it once again in the heart.

  6. kalabalu says:

    Anger..be angry when something/someone goes against a principle and never due to ego.. That makes it easier to control..less vulnerable to being played with by foes..but I feel..on certain moments..we do turn into volcanoes…that is when someone had hurt the point where we were already deeply wounded.

  7. Rajiv says:

    I agree that you need anger. The critical issue is, as you mentioned: controlling it. This is easier said than done, and it is not always easy to control it. Now, the second issue is, what you believe is control may not be perceived at the other end.

    There was a time in China when I lost my temper, and yelled. My Chinese colleagues were completely unruffled, because I spoke so fast that they did not understand a word I said! While I let off steam, their ego was not hurt. They probably thought I was a mad Indian going on a spin!!

  8. Rajiv says:

    I like that picture

  9. Kerwyn Hodge says:

    Anger is a natural emotion. As you pointed out, even the Christ became angry when faced with a callous disregard for his Father’s house as represented by the temple in Jerusalem. The key is as Paul put it: “Be wrathful, and yet do not sin; let the sun not set with you in a provoked state” (Ephesians 4:26, NWT). Therefore, it’s impossible to avoid becoming angry. It is entirely possible, however, to not allow anger to move you into some rash act. Thanks for sharing such an important point. It’s also timely, since we seem to face more and more situations in life that provoke anger.

  10. Yes, you are right, there is such a thing as righteous anger. If my relative was robbed and beaten, for example. However, I have noticed that angry people are constantly explaining What the other person did wrong that justified their anger. They describe in detail WHAT they said to that person to “straighten him or her out” However, they never describe notice or discuss the WAY they interacted. That, is an angry person.

  11. Yes. Great point. Scroll down and check out another post called “The squeeze”

  12. bossotld says:

    Well written, and correct. Getting angry is natural, normal (depending on what precipitated the anger, and often productive if channeled appropriately.

  13. mazaar13 says:

    Wow, this is so true! Best I’ve personally read because it affects me quite a bit. I’m not a manager but I supervise a small team of people and its the highest you can go other than owner/manager of the small business. Having an anger problem and have been struggling with that while dealing with rough situations I’ve learned to be angry but keep it out of the employees eyes and deal with it one on one with the owner. Its been a slow but rewarding experience and this post is exactly how I feel about it all. Thank you

  14. If something angers me I usually wait a day to address the issue with the other person.

  15. Bar Science says:

    God this is a good article! And it is so pertinent to what I’m going through as a dad. My little son is just starting elementary. Man, it seems like a lot of the schools where I live are trying to write off a segment of the school population so that over-worked teachers will not be overwhelmed. I had to get upset when my son was marked for the special ed group.

    I read with my kid and do homework so I know he isn’t slow. He’s in the first grade counting money and working with integers so he’s not retarded.

    I went up to the school and let them know, I’m not going to let him be marginalized academically. I was calm but stern. Moreover, I had him there so that he knows that dad has his baby boys back.

    Great Article!!!

  16. Jamie says:

    Great post, Cranston! I agree completely. As someone who shows anger rarely I’d add that frequency is key. When leaders react with anger often others live in fear. Measured anger, with the kind of response you suggest, is authentic and respected by others.

Leave a Reply

