The Day That Turns Your Life Around

day

Jim Rohn once told the story of a little girl scout who came to his door selling cookies.  He was a young man, just started a family, had a full time job and should have been in a good financial position.  The little girl gave him the presentation and politely asked him to buy.  At that time the cookies were only two dollars.  The big problem was he didn’t have two dollars and he was embarrassed.  There he was a grown man and couldn’t afford girl scout cookies.  So instead of telling her, he did what he thought was the next best thing.  He lied to her.  “Look, I’ve already bought a bunch of cookies and we still have some left over.” The little girl thanked him for his previous purchase and left.  He felt discussed.  How low do you have to be to lie to a girl scout?  Right then he decided he didn’t want to live like that anymore.

For more get the eBook:

Shape Your Character in 47 Days cover 4   https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/433783

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “The Day That Turns Your Life Around

  1. Andee says:

    Amen. Attitude is a choice.That choice determines whether I allow circumstances, bad choices, other people–whatever lies outside of me–to control and direct my behavior, or whether I will exercise the free will God has given me to be content in whatever circumstance I find myself. The Serenity Prayer is an excellent reminder that the choice is mine to make.

  2. Hope says:

    I think “amen” is appropriate.

  3. What great thoughts and what a powerful closing statement. May I reblog this to my readers?

  4. This is such a wonderful concept to keep in mind throughout life. I know I’ve wanted things to be different at certain times in my life even though I wasn’t exactly at rock bottom. But I had to take the time to assess where I was and decide where I wanted to be. I don’t always make it to my original goal, but pointing in a new direction always leads to new experiences. And that can be refreshing to a tired soul. I’m looking forward to your advice on designing a new direction.

  5. Reblogged this on Lillie-Put and commented:
    This was a great article about deciding…or not.

  6. Excellent examples!! Just excellent!

  7. Ray's Mom says:

    The ending quote – a good lesson.

  8. Excellent post Cranston! Yes we can change our direction at any given moment 🙂

  9. […] Cranston Holding lowers the boom in this searing and trying post. Can't handle the big stuff? Don't read this. Cranston asks the not-so-rhetorical question: what are you gonna do with your life? And when will you choose to change direction if you don't like where you are. Why not today? A classic and challenging post. […]

  10. very true – great post – we have very little choice about the things that happen to us but we have total control over how we respond to those things and either grow or groan our way through them.

  11. Tom Schaber says:

    As a recovering alcoholic I always love reading one line “wake up calls”. The “direction we face” is one of those. Thanks for that and for stopping by my blog world. Watching the news it is easy to forget that the world is peopled by more good ones than bad ones but the good ones rarely pay for the 6PM advertising.

    ts

  12. cherylmackie says:

    You know just before reading this blog post, I was just saying to myself. It’s time I moved on and stopped being afraid of the future because of my past.

Leave a Reply

