Waiting on Superman

greek-statue-2

I first heard this term from Jeff Olsen in his book, “The Slight Edge”.  In ancient Greek theater, characters would get themselves into the biggest mess a playwright could possibly dream up.  They would use a plot device known as Dues ex Machina, where a seemingly unsolvable problem would be suddenly and abruptly resolved by an unexpected god or character with a special power who would be lowered in by a machine with a rope and harness to set everything right and save the day.  Hence the name Deus ex Machina, which in Latin means, “god from the machine”.

For more get the eBook:

Shape Your Character in 47 Days cover 4   https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/433783

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

23 thoughts on “Waiting on Superman

  1. Simply wonderful and The Slight Edge is my number one best read book and too see how so many people are being inspired and applying the slight edge philosophy motivates me to pass on the book so even more prospects…this is a great post and I hope you don’t mind me reblogging it for the rest of The Parodaxians to see.

  2. Reblogged this on The Paradox and commented:
    Don’t wait on SUPERMAN! BECOME YOUR OWN AND SHOW THE WORLD WHAT YOU CAN DO NO MATTER HOW SMALL IT MAY BE BECAUSE COMPOUNDED OVER TIME IT WILL HAVE A HUGH IMPACT ON YOURS AND ALL THE PERSONS AROUND YOU LIVES

  3. I am a miracle, though I feel my timing is a little off; I usually take people on as a project (little be announced to them. LOL!), and when I feel they’ve found their ‘success’, whatever that may be to them, and then I move on and wind someone else to work on… You don’t think I’m Frankenstein, do you? :O(

  4. Nin Ashmore says:

    Que sera, sera. Excellent post, as usual Cranston.

  5. jamestollefson says:

    Wow this is very interesting. I need to read that.

  6. There are two things of which I becoming increasingly certain: we must live in the Now, and we are capable of doing much greater things than we are willing to give ourselves credit for accomplishing.

    Nicely written.

  7. As always, very well done and a message that I think we all need to hear. I’ve been struggling with one of the items mentioned above, and so it was a good slap in the face!

  8. To me, Jesus Christ is the miracle and guides me towards all areas of accomplishment daily! That being said, I whole heartedly agree that I must do my part as well. Great Writing!

  9. victorsunki says:

    I really love your write up. We are our own Superman.
    Thank you for being a positive influence on the people around you.
    And thank you for loving Archangel and Prince

  10. I love this post because it offers me hope – hope that small daily decisions can ultimately lead to big changes in my life. Thanks for the encouragement!

  11. Thank you, I look forward to reading the book! Bless you!

Leave a Reply

