No one starts with the Sistine Chapel

MichelangeloDavide

Do you ever get the feeling that you should be further along than you currently are?  Are you living up to the dreams and goals you set for yourself when you were younger? If you are like many people, the answer is probably no.  You haven’t paid off that debt that has been lurking over your head for years that you have been promising yourself you would.  You haven’t increased your income to what you promised yourself.  You haven’t reduced you outgo either.  What about your weight?  I’m guessing you’re no supermodel, but are you where you want to be when you step on the scales?

For more get the eBook:

Shape Your Character in 47 Days cover 4   https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/433783

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

36 thoughts on “No one starts with the Sistine Chapel

  1. bradybeckman says:

    Thanks for that…Very inspiring.

  2. DNamto says:

    Thanks….I needed such reading
    Thumbs up !

  3. …if I might interject a thought, take a look back at the milestone along the way…and celebrate what you have accomplished, too! Balance is just as satisfying as great strides to acclamations from peers or a crowd. ~Zoey

  4. Rajiv says:

    Yeah, I agree with you. However, what really happens, is that we see success models, and ignore the path they took.
    Our culture today values success, not the path

    • Very true. We see the overnight success. What we don’t see is the years of mundane and daily grind which caused the over night success. I suppose it should instead be called an overnight recognition.

  5. Tomi says:

    Great post. Totally my frame of mind at the moment

  6. Cranston, I have had the privilege of seeing many of Michelangelo’s works. Your post drives the point perfectly. Thank you!

  7. Above Clouds says:

    This is was so awesome! I need to hear this. I am printing this is and placing it up on my office wall.

  8. Tomi says:

    Reblogged this on Cambridge Tales and commented:
    Check out this post. I totally agree. Too often we are in too much of a hurry to succeed.

  9. You already have enough comments so I’ll just add some filler blah, blah, blah. That’s pretty much what it looks like when I comment anyway! 🙂

    Kidding… my comments are pure gold. Excellent post and a great reminder to learn how to be content. I love the reference to being a sturdy oak and not a withering vine – makes me think of a passage in Psalms…it’s in the beginning – that’s all I can tell you without Googling it! Details aren’t my strong suit!

    • Well Kate, now I have to google it so I know what you are talking about. ; )

      • Now I had to Google it. Psalms 1:3 And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.

        It’s good to take time and let your roots grow, to learn and grow and be strong in your faith, work, family and life and not be like the vine that withers.

  10. Great reminder of where I’ve come from; this was me less than a year ago.

  11. […] Cranston Holden offers a contrarian view in an instant world: good things take time. In this evocative post he reminds us that greatness isn't something that happens overnight. That's a sensation. As a former boss of mine used to say, excellence is hundreds of small things done well time and time again. Read Cranston's timely view for a perspective not only on turning good to great, but maybe being a little kinder to yourself as well along the way. […]

  12. Great post, Cranston. This is something that I have learned to live by.

    Although at times, we may find ourselves confused or at a standstill along our paths, we must venture on. Dreams are indeed, what they are made of. Happiness is discovered when we truly understand what it means to love oneself and have a spiritual relationship with God or whichever higher power one believes in.

    You said it best: “Scripture says we should be anxious for nothing. We should learn to be happy while we pursue the what we want.” This is absolutely so true. If you are constantly dwelling on why your success rate isn’t moving as quickly as it should, then you are wasting precious moments better spent reflecting on happier times and pursuing your goals. We must learn to be content no matter how much more the people around us might have and be positive along the way. Someday, our labors will see the light at the end of all of our hard work, whether it be here or there.

  13. Wow wow- i’m going to read all of your blog. Thanks thanks, and more please.

  14. Thank you for this post. This is exactly how I’ve been thinking lately. I’ve been comparing myself to younger more successful people and getting really frustrated about it, so thanks for the perspective!

  15. Wonderful post, you surely are applying the Slight Edge method very well in your life and I always love when people pass on the information gathered to the wider audience. Keep up the great work and right after this I shall be clicking the like and follow bottom and look out for me to be back viewing and commenting on your work.

  16. […] lemons and rainbows Walls – from the blog shift because the only thing constant is change. No one starts with the Sistine Chapel – from the blog TodaysManager shape your character change your life. ‘Being […]

  17. Congratulations on your nomination – 2013 Best Poetry/Spiritual Healing post

  18. shadowluvr2 says:

    wow how deep I have spent the last 5 years trying to make up for the last 30 years of what I feel like I wasted my lifetime. rushing to this hurrying to that worried about this worried about that and I see that he gets me absolutely nowhere. thank you so much for this inspirational article that you wrote it has really touched and inspired me at a time that I needed it the most.

    • Thank you very much. I know how you feel. We sense we are running behind and put conditions on our happiness and sense of fulfillment. What we neglect many times is that if we chose happiness first, success will follow it much quicker. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

