Happiness is a Choice

Sick manAn outside sales executive works tirelessly each day and halfway through each night praying and hoping he can make a big enough dent in his sales budget, so that he will be recognized and eventually promoted.  Many times he is passed over for a promotion.  His attitude changes and his demeanor darkens.  The energy he once had has faded. His customers aren’t as enthused about doing business with him as they once were.  His inner light of joy has faded to a pale shadow of what it once was.  He comes home each night and plops down on the recliner and zones out in front of the television wishing things were better.

 

The only hope he has, that keeps pushing him on is the possibility that …

For more get the eBook:

Shape Your Character in 47 Days cover 4   https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/433783

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “Happiness is a Choice

  1. Oh the dreaded destination disease!! So very true that we can waste out lives away trying to hit that imaginary moment in time where everything all of the sudden comes up roses. We can miss so much in life trying to get there and we stop participating in life. Just existing instead of actually living. How sad. I don’t want to ever catch that disease! I will give myself the vaccination and I will make a point to participate in my life, to have fun, to color outside the lines and yes, to stop and smell the roses!

  2. tokealiyu says:

    Makes sense!

    Thanks and well done.

    Fola Daniel Adelesi
    President/CEO,
    Edible Pen.

    My books are now available on http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/foladaniel Please go there to buy. Thank you!

    +234 (0)803 416 3006
    http://www.foladaniel.wordpress.com
    http://www.foladaniel.com
    http://www.ediblepen.org
    info@foladaniel.com
    fola-daniel – Skype
    @foladaniel – Twitter
    http://www.facebook.com/foladanieladelesi

    Edible Pen »Public Speaking |Management Training | Consulting| Compere services| Blogging & Training | +234 (0)803 416 3006 |info@ediblepen.org

  3. vicbriggs says:

    “When we are happy our mindset is positive, we are in a better mood, we are smarter, more motivated and success seems to find us.”
    Very true. Enjoyed your post. Thank you.

  4. Jamie says:

    This is such a powerful idea and I’ve been a believer forever. Perhaps it’s more innate for some of us to be joyful and others need to work harder to make it more of a conscious choice. Do you find any truth in that? This is reminding me of some people I know who can only relax and feel happy on vacation. Great post, Cranston!

  5. ekurie says:

    very well said. I worked for my dad for years. he was a task master and I was up to his pressure. It was only when I realized he kept that carrot just out of reach to make me sweat more to produce more for him and did not care whether or not I (or anyone else) was happy while avoiding frustration. I left to pursue other interests. He always regretted it and I was sad he never knew why!

  6. aisadelacruz says:

    Thank you for this very beautiful article!

  7. Excellent point. Thanks for stopping by my blog, I appreciate it. Stop by on Fridays for a free flash fiction story.

  8. Reblogged this on lovelyseasonscomeandgo and commented:
    You have to read this amazing post!

  9. Bar Science says:

    I hope to attract success!

  10. niccistatham says:

    Great article Cranston, really insightful and emotionally intelligent. This resonanted with me today, how much I can be guilty of attaching conditions to my happiness Wow!

Leave a Reply

