The Wolf and the Lamb

wolf

Once upon a time a Wolf was drinking at a spring on a hillside, when looking up, what should he see but a Lamb just beginning to drink a little lower down. “There’s my supper,” he thought, “if only I can find some excuse to seize it.” Then he called out to the Lamb, “How dare you muddle the water that I am drinking?”

“No, Mr. Wolf, I’m sorry,” said the young lamb. “If the water is muddy up there, I couldn’t have caused it, for it runs down from you to me.”

“Well, then,” said the Wolf, “Why did you call me bad names this time last year?”

“I couldn’t have done that,” said the Lamb; “I am only six months old.”

“Well you feed in my pasture without my permission,” snarled the Wolf.

“Again Mr. Wolf, I am only six months old and haven’t began eating grass yet,” pleaded the Lamb.

“I don’t care,” bellowed the Wolf. “If it was not you, it was your father.” And with that he rushed the poor little Lamb and ate her all up.

Any excuse will serve a tyrant.

This old Aesop fable still holds true till this day.  I’ve unfortunately caught someone stealing.  There was no denying it.  They were caught red handed.  Theft in my opinion is immediate dismissal, but I was inquisitive.  “For my own curiosity, why did you do it?” I asked.

After the initial dance of denial and trying to latch on to a misunderstanding defense, they sort of came clean.  They told me because they felt like they had been cheated in the past and they were just trying in some twisted way to get even.

A Tyrant will always find a pretext for his Tyranny.   

howleadersmanagecover1

 

 

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/501032

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “The Wolf and the Lamb

  1. Ugh. I wrote a great a comment and it failed! It talked about judgement day and not calling in sick. I’m not retyping it tho cause I’m mad a WP. Great post Mr. Cranston!

    • Are you sure? I would have loved to hear it.

      • Something along the lines of it is amazing how much we can justify to ourselves sometimes. Even less extreme than the examples you listed above is the small lying, cheating, stealing. White lies, playing instead of working, etc. If you have to justify to yourself or others, you probably shouldn’t do it. It is silly, but I frequently picture myself at Judgement Day – and if I would hate to explain myself there, then I try not to do it! And, I refuse to call in sick, because it’s guaranteed that lie will come back and get me and I’ll actually get sick!

  2. Tammy Loftis says:

    That is an interesting way to look at why they “Thought” they were stealing…Great post!

  3. Rajiv says:

    I could not agree with you more. This is the truth, and is one universal truth that is never spoken about

  4. ekurie says:

    I am sorry that happened to you. It also happened to my father, and after he passed away my brother and I caught the thief. We did manage to put her in jail. Without sounding as though I want to seem noble we didn’t care about the money so much as keeping her from doing that to someone else. What futility! She posted bail of course (with Dad’s money).No idea where she is now.

  5. Ray's Mom says:

    Human wolves as just as lethal as the wild wolf….loved your story and can relate.

  6. When team members, steal from you, they don’t see it as stealing. They see it as a way for getting you back. I liked your approach tho in trying to understand the other person first. Great Job!

    quit-your-culture.com

  7. david hughes says:

    The saying is true in human life people will try to justify there actions but u cant compare to the wolf because the wolf was doing what came naturally maybe the reason he said that stuff to the lamb was to give the lamb a reason for being eatin

Leave a Reply

