Some Work to Rest, Others Rest to Work

resting

I entered a restaurant recently and ordered a couple meals to go.  The person that took my order wasn’t particularly enthusiastic. As I waited for my food to be ready, I listened to the conversation that the two employees behind the counter were having.  I stepped around the corner, leaned against the wall, not wanting to appear noisy, but obviously couldn’t help but overhear them talking to each other.

For more get the eBook:

Shape Your Character in 47 Days cover 4   https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/433783

26 thoughts on “Some Work to Rest, Others Rest to Work

  1. I couldn’t agree more. Having to work hard will really cause one to rest, and not having to work hard rather, causes some unrests. Greater commitment to excellence is really something, to which we owe to our excellent Maker.

  2. Rajiv says:

    Excellent post. Actually, when you are doing something that you love, then it gives you energy. Work becomes play becomes rest. This happens when you are in the zone. Otherwise, work becomes drudgery

  3. Nice post! But I guess is not easy to find something your truly loves to work in. Perhaps that’s why people still stick to jobs they are unhappy about? In order to change, it requires a lot of courage and strength. Don’t you think so?

    • Yes and no. If you’re miserable doing something then by all means change. If you are just unhappy with a job remember every job is what you make it.

      “When someone says, “I’m looking for a better job.” I respond, ” No a better job is looking for a better you.”

  4. witzshared says:

    Agree, it’s a much healthier way to look at it. In the 80’s the average number of months a teamster driver collected his pension after retirement was 13 months and that stat woke me up! Rest to work and always stop to smell the roses.

  5. Brenda says:

    This was very thoughtful and interesting. I had made this transition in my life without ever realizing. I rest to work now, and had only noticed that I have somehow find what I love, without realizing its effects on other areas of my life. This is a great way of putting that into words. Thanks!

  6. I’m too tired for a witty comeback, apparently I need to shift my thinking so that I’m refreshed! 🙂
    Okay, I do work hard during the week, but it’s so I can play harder on the weekends. I can sleep when I’m dead!

  7. Ankur Mithal says:

    Well articulated. It seems like a universal affliction.

  8. lilkaraphael says:

    I do so enjoy your posts! So much so that as I received the Versatile Blogger Award this week you are one of my nominees. If you are so inclined, please click on the green awards “box” on bisforblessed for instructions on how to “receive” your award. Thanks so much for blessing me! Lilka

  9. Reblogged this on Anthony Mwenda and commented:
    I like your thinking. It makes a lot of sense. It just summerises what I like to call ‘attitude towards work ‘

  10. This is a good philosophy

  11. I agree with you! Great post!

Leave a Reply

