“How can I be happy when I hate my job?”

WORST-JOBS-FIGHT-CLUB

I am a big advocate for happiness in the workplace. I believe happiness is a choice and that success revolves around it and not the other way around.  So when I speak to people in other industries and explain to them that happiness is the key to success in their job performance I get asked the question, “How can I be happy when I hate my job?” 

For more get the eBook:

Shape Your Character in 47 Days cover 4   https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/433783

If you like this, download my eBook: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/411467 Lessons From Paw Paw Cover

Lincoln – “Whatever you are, be a good one.”

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on ““How can I be happy when I hate my job?”

  1. Jon says:

    Great post, I love the analogy. It reminds me how some students look at education.

  2. Amen! It’s so important to keep a positive attitude and stay thankful for our job no matter how much we dislike it. Not everyone is lucky enough to even have one.

  3. helenthis51 says:

    Great post. If this is your state of mind, read Who Moved My Cheese by Dr. Spencer Johnson. Find some new cheese!!

  4. Rajiv says:

    I like this post. Most often, we choose a job for the wrong reasons – prestige, money, power.Sometimes, we are a bit scared to chase our passion, or to find passion in the work. This is when the problems start, and we start bitching and moaning. This is work becomes a pain and not a joy

  5. Happiness is a state of mind.

    quit-your-culture.com

  6. Some time ago I had a job that wasn’t right for me. I realised fairly quickly that my values, beliefs, strengths and talents were at odds with the employer’s culture. I was unhappy. And I’m sure I said “I hate my job” to those closest to me.

    Nonetheless, having an intense dislike for the job did not prevent me from doing an excellent job. Indeed on reflection I delivered some of my best work. However, I chose to move on as soon as the right opportunity presented itself so I could continue my career journey.

    But to say I was happy; to pretend I was happy would be wrong. No amount of positive spin should or could change my intense dislike (hate, if you like) for the job. It was the opposite of “Nothing makes a person happier than moving step by step to a defined destination.” My unhappiness resulted in decision and the motivation to find another job.

    If you “hate” your job you need to understand why and to act.

  7. witzshared says:

    I was new at a company and was reporting to my boss the out come of an incident when I finished with, “everyone is happy” the ass’t manager blew up, what’s this happy crap, I don’t want people to be happy just do their job. I responded with what difference does it make if they’re happy, they work better and before we got into it the manager ended the meeting. I immediately knew the origin of most of the production problems. Positive thoughts charges everyone.

  8. I love my job and this is great advice.

Leave a Reply

