Stop Bad Behavior Instantly

funny_dog_make_a_mess_1033

When anyone is in a leadership role they are occasionally challenged by other people with their bad behavior, whether its a parent, a supervisor, a minister, or a team captain.  Bad behavior is always harmful to all it touches; to the people that are exposed to it, to the recipient, and to the person on the receiving end of the behavior.

 

Imagine you walk into a room to make an announcement for an upcoming meeting.  You hear someone’s off putting and sarcastic comment, “Great another wooooonderful meeting.”

 

Imagine you approach an employee and ask him to do a simple task and he responds, “Why do I have to do it.  You never ask anyone else to do it?”  Everyone turns and looks out of the corner of their eye waiting on your response.

 

For more get:

The Jerk Whisperer

  https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/470598

The Jerk Whisperer – How to Keep Adults Acting Like Adults

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “Stop Bad Behavior Instantly

  1. This is a level of courage a lot of leaders don’t have. Some tend to be passive but a “nip it in the bud” approach gets immediate results and maybe even more important sets a powerful example for others. Bad behavior is contagious. Thats why its important to address it because if others perceive you to be lax then they will soon to begin demonstrating a lack of disrespect for your expectations. It undermines your ability to be effective and their ability to be productive. Great read. Thank you.

  2. KBT says:

    I have chosen the word “unacceptable” instead of “inappropriate” and call out the behavior specifically. “Being 7 minutes late for this meeting is unacceptable” simply from an HR standpoint- then when you want cause to fire someone, they can’t say they didn’t know or you didn’t tell them :). Its a total CYA! Great post! Nip it in the bud!

  3. I agree with KBT above with the use of ‘unacceptable’. Great read – thank you.

  4. Tough love…still applicable and a very practical way to approach disruptive behaviors in our adult lives, too. Not always easy but most effective way to get the wrong thinking stopped and the right thinking started. We need to remind ourselves and others that love (respect) is the power behind the action and when it is not…it is unacceptable. TY!!

    • You are right. Anchor pain to bad behavior and anchor pleasure to good behavior.

      • I understand the phrase “Tough Love” as being firm and not a push over for the strong-willed child…this can sometimes translate to adults who still are dealling with wrong thinking habits. Simply. Not sure about the anchoring of anything in regards to good or bad traits. Maybe, if we are anchored on right thinking we won’t allow our wrong thinking to sink us into the mire??? Our rewards as adults should be the geniune satisfaction of a job well done and a humble heart when recognized for successes. When a child is taught good values it will show up later in their growth, if not, I belived we are never to old to learn new things and ways to improve ourselves. Simply. 🙂

  5. Great post! And I love that picture with the dog…I’ve been having a similar experience lately with my puppy. But anyhow, I appreciate what you wrote. Thanks!

  6. Rajiv says:

    I absolutely agree with you. I was, unfortunately, castigated by my bosses when I did not tolerate bad behavior. I was told that I was not people oriented!

  7. Maria says:

    I wonder if this will work with my teenagers? I may try it and I’ll let you know. 🙂

  8. I’m going to start saying that all of the time “What you are doing is inappropriate”. I don’t care what it is – my response will be either “What you are doing is inappropriate” or “Aliens did it”

Leave a Reply

