Don’t Marry Someone You Intend to Change

Untitled

A few years ago I fell into this trap.  I was in need of some good people to fill a couple sales positions the business had open. A man came in, I’ll call Dustin. He had years of sales experience and seemed to really know his stuff. I invited him in and spoke with him in depth about his desires to join the company and what we were looking for. He did a great job, presented himself well, answered my questions the way I expected, and was interactive with the rest of the staff.

 

For more get the eBook:

howleadersmanagecover1

 

 

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/501032

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Don’t Marry Someone You Intend to Change

  1. Very good point! Loved this post, it’s good to keep in mind that people are as they present themselves and they have to want to change, we can’t change them. But, also, what great lessons that you got to learn! Obviously they were put in your path to help you out! 🙂

    • Thanks Kate. Sometimes when you don’t know you have to learn the hard way. That’s why I try to load my mind with as much information as possible. So I can learn from others and not have to do trial and error on my own. Have a great day,

  2. savurbks says:

    Such a hard lesson to learn but so true! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Reblogged this on makingsenceofitall and commented:
    How true, a great read.

  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog! And yes, good advice…never marry – or hire – someone hoping they’ll change. thankfully my husband didn’t do that! ha.

  5. […] Today’s Manager –  Cranston helps me grow as a person and as a manager, his blog is full of wonderful stories that help us become better people and manager ourselves and others! […]

  6. Liza Wood says:

    Reblogged this on Sockets and Lightbulbs and commented:
    This article partly inspired yesterday’s post on my favourite interview question for new grads. It is so important to hire the right people for the job. The candidate’s strengths need to be a fit for the position and, if he/she is able to learn quickly and autonomously any missing skills can easily be trained.

    If you know you shouldn’t marry someone you intend to change, why would you hire someone with the same intention?

Leave a Reply

