The Diva Personality (Prima Donna)

480719-wwe_diva_title_championship_belt

Working with a Diva can be one of the most challenging things a leader can try to pull off.  Historically a Diva has been identified as a female singer (originally identified as opera but recently evolved into a slang term to all female singers) who is VERY talented but is also very high maintenance. They absolutely love drama.  We’ve all heard the demands they put on venues for the dressing room to be outfitted with a massage therapist, extremely specific food choices, the temperature of the limo they ride in, and an exact list of who’s allowed backstage.

For more get the eBook:   https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/470598

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “The Diva Personality (Prima Donna)

  1. Love the “your job is to control them and not crush them”. My industry is full of sales people and it’s easy to identify the Diva (and most are male!), but while they can be dramatic, when I need results, guess who I turn to? You are spot on that you have to manage the gap. Great post!

    • Kate you are SO right. You know you have a good sales person when one day you want to ring their neck and the next day you want to hug it.

      I really hope you have a blessed and fulfilled Christmas. Remember to make note and capture the little memories of the ones you love.

      • Thanks Cranston – I hope you and yours have a very blessed Christmas! Mr. T is part of the advent “performance” this year, he was the the intro to the last candle (joy) this Sunday and he’ll perform a totally different monologue at the Christmas Eve service. I can’t wait!

  2. mazaar13 says:

    Bravo! Working in a factory where everything is done by hand and the entire team is men and only having one female willing to work on the team; while reading the first half all I could think was: “man, I’m dealing with a guy that seems to fit this personality for some time” and than praise the gods you mentioned most are men, and it hit me.. I’ve been dealing with a major Diva at a factory. Those are some words of wisdom and you never seem to amaze! Once my holidays are done I will have to use them to my full extend as per usual, thanks for once again putting my heart at ease in the business world and Merry Christmas (or happy holidays if you follow another religion)

  3. Rajiv says:

    Thiis is a very well-timed post. Deaing with divas or prima-donnas has never been easy, and never will be, sadly. If not managed well, they can actually be destructive to the organization, as they believe that the organization will collapse without them. I have, to be honest, not always been great at managing them. In general yes, but not always

    • It all depends on whether or not that’s the type of business you want. Fast and chaotic or slow and steady. Neither way is bad or good. It all depends on your goals and what you want to achieve.

      Have a great week.

  4. tbeaty says:

    O.K. Where did you come from. You are certainly swimming against the tide of best HR advice. They say, “fire the Divas.” You say, manage them. Well, ha ha, I agree with you 100%, I just wouldn’t want the competition to figure this “Diva thing” out. Indeed, I enthusiastically hire the Divas that my competition fires. As a result, I dominate! Why, because here, we are all Divas — I’m a Diva! Give me your Divas and I will manage to give you a top-shelf, world-class team of Divas. Key word, “manage.” Keep up the good work Cranston…but, not too loudly, please!

  5. tbeaty says:

    O.K. Where did you come from. You are certainly swimming against the tide of best HR advice. They say, “fire the Divas.” You say, MANAGE them. Well, ha ha, I agree with you 100%, I just wouldn’t want the competition to figure this “Diva thing” out. Indeed, I enthusiastically hire the Divas that my competition fires. As a result, I dominate! Why, because here, we are all Divas — I’m a Diva! Give me your Divas and I will MANAGE to give you a top-shelf, world-class, championship team of Divas. Key word, “MANAGE.” Keep up the good work Cranston…but, please, not too loudly.

Leave a Reply

