Be a Straight Shooter

Joe_Bowman_Straight_Shooter

Uncomfortable conversations come up whether you lead a professional group in business or you are a parent who has a rebellious teenager. Who you really are inside and how you feel about yourself shows through the facade in these situations. How you respond really sets the stage for your own self confidence. Many will attempt throwing out hints out on a prayer hoping they hit their intended mark. Let me tell you, they rarely do. Most often, they fall on deaf ears. The intended recipient will say to themselves, “I’m glad they aren’t talking about me. Whoever they are talking about had better watch out though.”

For more get the eBook:

howleadersmanagecover1

 

 

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/501032

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Be a Straight Shooter

  1. joedalio says:

    You brought back some excellent memories with the Money Ball quote 🙂 Seriously, the message is loud and clear. Thanks for the excellent reminder.

  2. Really good points. I work hard to be direct (okay, sometimes I don’t work hard, sometimes it does come naturally) but in the situations you are describing, I do work to be direct. I only think it’s fair. And as much as it can hurt, I prefer people be direct towards with me, if you don’t let me know what’s wrong, I can’t fix it!

  3. “Leadership requires enough courage to look people in the eye and be straight with them.” Great point! Sugarcoating only leads to confusion, mistrust, and of course the mediocrity to talk about.

  4. Rajiv says:

    I like what you say. I prefer straight talking. It has got me in trouble even with Europeans (some!!) who like to talk straight, but could not handle the same treatment!
    In Asia, it has to be laced with honey. The further East I have travelled, the more indirect I have had to become. It was most difficult for me in Korea and Japan when I had to scratch my head and find the proper indirect form of directness!

  5. Brady says:

    Hello colleagues, how is everything, and what you would like to say concerning this piece of
    writing, in my view its genuinely remarkable designed for me.

  6. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought
    this post was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  7. Nin Ashmore says:

    Cranston,
    Your common sense posts based on Christian principles are greatly appreciated. We have faced some spiritual leadership flaws that we are addressing. Too bad we were afraid to deal with it before now.

Leave a Reply

