Cynical People

facebook_1390431460

Having a cynical person in your life can be very difficult. They seemed to be skeptical about everything you say or do. No matter how much you work to earn their trust, they never seem to trust you and your motives. A cynical person believes that people only do things to serve their own selfish needs.  No matter how pure your motives are, they just think you are up to no good.

IFor more get the eBook:   https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/470598

Lessons From Paw Paw available here : Lessons From Paw Paw Cover  https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/411467

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Cynical People

  1. georgia says:

    I noticed that cynicism is also a form of depression, at many people.

  2. I don’t want to be cynical about cynical people but you are right in what you’re saying – everything has a ‘but’ in front of it and they#ve seen it all, done it all before and nothing ever good happens etc. I personally find these people really frustrating and try not to spend too much time with them (I’m an idealist personality type).

    However, as I type this I’m thinking of one particular person I come into contact regularly. It’s tricky one – to increase their vision, their expectancy, to get them to try new things is an ongoing challenge and as they are a leader also, this effects the people in the church.

    Thanks for the thought-provoking article.

    • Sounds like the content is not the problem but the context. You can keep pouring better and better water into a container but if the container never increases in size you never grow. Good Point and have a tremendous day.

  3. Ripley Trout says:

    Thought you might be interested in this alternative take on football management http://wp.me/p3Se2x-2s

  4. Your suggested ways of dealing with the cynic is so much better than mine! I tend to stare at them, roll my eyes, give a snort of derision and then walk away. Sometimes I mix up the order and give the snort of derision first.
    It is hard when you have to deal with someone that is always tearing things down, it is a great idea to give them the responsibility to fix, or come up with viable solutions, and make them a team player.

    • Ha. Yeah that’s true. It’s easiest to avoid them all together. People can either be anchors or engines. I like hanging out with engines. But I do enjoy giving the blank Steve Harvey / Milton Burrell stare.

  5. Rajiv says:

    Hmm. I always thought of myself as a cynic. But, shall I say ‘skeptical’ instead? I tend to be iconoclastic, and this has got me into more trouble than I liked, therefore I decided to go my own independent way
    Yet, I like your way of dealing with cynics. The naysayers need special treatment, I agree

  6. ekurie says:

    Good ideas. Though retired now I do have a sister-in-law that you have described exactly. I think she is basically a very unhappy person and is doing all she can to make my brother so as well. I will try these ideas. Thanks!

  7. Wow, so true! Glad to have you follow my blog. Be blessed this weekend. meghan

Leave a Reply

