Stand on Your Own Two Feet

 

mooch-300x199

One of the things I am very self-conscious and concerned about is developing my character. This is my passion and ultimate goal because everything you get in life revolves around who you become.   One particular situation occurred recently that really drives this point home for me. I came in contact with a man who knew my grandfather personally. It was particularly odd because when he knew him was well over forty years ago. I was thrilled to learn more about the man and my PawPaw. It turned out the man worked for him when he was a young man. His ability to recall that far back, proved to me that my PawPaw had a real impact on the man so this furthered the reputation of my grandfather’s influence in my mind.

The man and I decided it would be a good idea to do business together. My organization began some work for the man and immediately things came to a head. He totally took advantage of me and we decided to part ways but not before he requested extra money. He didn’t deserve it nor did anyone do anything wrong for him to deserve it. I just knew he was trying to mooch off the situation and gain something he didn’t deserve.

Instead of trying to fight the accusation, in business sometimes it’s a lot better to just give them what they are asking for and walk away. Is it right? No of course not. But that’s life. I would rather be happy than be right. So the man won. I took my lumps and learned from it. He mooched off the situation and used me as a crutch.

A couple days ago I learned that man passed away shortly after that. Regardless of how he lived his life up to that point, what I remember is the character flaw of him taking advantage of other people.

Now when I say to not use people as a crutch what I’m really saying it to not mooch off other people. Don’t take money you don’t need or deserve. Learn to stand on your on two feet and be a healthy and complete person. You weren’t created to depend on other people to survive. You were created for greatness not poverty.

Here are some common examples of being a mooch you can ask yourself:

  • When the check comes at the end of the meal do you wait for someone else to grab the check?
  • When you go on a trip with someone and they get out to pump gas, do you offer to pay your share of sit quietly in the car pretending to be operating your phone?
  • Do you depend on Economic Outpatient Care (your family and extended family) to take care of you?
  • Do you depend on the Government or State to subsidize your income when you are able to make it on your own? (I understand SOME need help and are not talking about you but rather those who take advantage of the situation because they can)

 

Some people dedicate their entire lives to beating the system and getting over on someone using everyone else as a crutch. These people will forever be chained to a life of mediocrity and unhappiness. Don’t let this be you. Develop your dignity.

Stand proudly on your own two feet and remember, there will be doubters, there will be scoffers, there will be naysayers, and there will be you….. proving them wrong!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Stand on Your Own Two Feet

  1. Cranston, I thought you might like this quote: Never stand begging for that which you have the power to earn. – Miguel de Cervantes

    In the context of mooching, I understand your statement: You weren’t created to depend on other people to survive. In the larger picture I do believe that we need each other and our individual gifs and talents in community, whether that be family, work teams or neighbourhoods to not just survive, but thrive.
    Diana

  2. Rajiv says:

    I could not agree with you more. I believe that it is better to live with dignity than to be a mooch

  3. I’ll say it…”Hindsight is always 20/20! We make mistakes but we can turn them into life lessons to guide us next time the same or similar situation presents itself, right?

    I value your life lessons, Cranston…you are worth your weight in GOLD!!! Blessings~Zoey

  4. Life lessons are usually the worst and the most valuable at the same time. I agree that it’s so important to be able to manage yourself and not let others be a crutch! Great post!

Leave a Reply

