How to Measure a Man’s Greatness

vvstatueYou don’t measure a man’s greatness by his talent, riches, or accomplishments. You judge a man’s greatness by what it takes to discourage him.
There have been hundreds of thousands of people who have accomplished magnificent feats only to be forgotten and remain nameless throughout the ages. Why would this be?
At the first sight of adversity they crumble up and fold. If someone can’t take a little criticism without getting discouraged, he isn’t very great. How to truly discern who is great is to ask yourself how much would the person be worth if you took away all their accomplishments.

One song that shows a man’s greatness is:
Craig Morgan This Ain’t Nothin’
He was standing in the rubble
Of an old farmhouse outside of Birmingham
When some on-the-scene reporter
Stuck a camera in the face of that old man
He said, tell the folks, please mister
What are you gonna do
Now that this twister has taken
All that’s dear to you
The old man just smiled and said
Boy, let me tell you something
This ain’t nothin’
He said, I lost my daddy when I was eight years old
That cave-in at the Kincaid Mine left a big old hole
And I lost my baby brother, my best friend, and my left hand
In a no-win situation in a place called Vietnam
And last year I watched my lovin’ wife
Of fifty years, waste away and die
And I held her hand as her heart of gold stopped pumpin’
So, this ain’t nothin’

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “How to Measure a Man’s Greatness

  1. To just keep going in the face of adversity is sometimes the greatest virtue a man can have.

  2. What a wonderful message, and one I was meant to see today! Thanks for this.

  3. timeforabetterlifestyle says:

    When he falls , he gets right back up without fail. Determine to win. Willing to pay the price. By the way , good article

  4. Nin Ashmore says:

    Loved this post! It’s a matter of perspective after all!

  5. cherylfoston says:

    Reblogged this on whatcherylsaid… and commented:
    Reblogged this from “How Leaders Manage” Awesome message.

  6. cherylfoston says:

    Awesome message! I reblogged this on “Whatcherylsaid.” I also want to thank you, for reading my blog and for supplying me with such great information. I don’t manage anyone but myself, but I love reblogging information like this to give others a CLUE 🙂

Leave a Reply

