Why People Lie Under Pressure

under-pressure

Have you ever asked someone a legitimate question and been met with a confident answer? You had no reason to doubt their response because their words sounded so rational only to find out later that it was just…….well ….made up.

This person has just outright lied to you and it doesn’t really make logical sense. It would have been better to just say, “I don’t know” or I’m not sure” or “Let me check and get back with you”.  But instead they just made something up.

Why do people lie under pressure? If the consequences of pretending to know can be so damaging, why do people keep doing?

Because in most cases, 

For more get the eBook:

howleadersmanagecover1

 

 

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/501032

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Why People Lie Under Pressure

  1. Rajiv says:

    I found it easier to say that I don’t know. It has cost me, and I have seen people lie through their teeth and get away with it.
    But, I like to sleep at night!

  2. nkbenavides says:

    I was taught to say, “Great question! Let me get back to you on that.” Leaders follow through with getting back to the person with the answer. Lies make great manipulators, not great leaders.

  3. It was a long lesson, but I’ve finally embraced the “I don’t know the answer, but I’ll find out!” I’m helping my co-workers learn it, they don’t understand the freedom in it yet – but they’re getting them!

  4. Good topic, I see it all the time. I’m with Rajiv – I like to sleep at night.

Leave a Reply

