Never Shoot Your Wounded

soldier_carrying_wounded_by_jamesbirkbeck-d4frp2v

We Don’t Shoot Our Wounded!

Everyone has had or will have personal problems. I’ve had team members experience the loss of a very close family member, mental health issues, personal injury, severe child illness, parents who needed round the clock care, court issues, and housing problems. These reasons should never result in someone being released. We don’t shoot our wounded. We learn to staff around it.

howleadersmanagecover1

 

 

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/501032

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Never Shoot Your Wounded

  1. You know, as much as I might struggle with my boss, I will admit that he is the reason I’m here – and that he makes family a priority. And almost 2 years ago when my baby brother first got ill, I was getting up and driving to the hospital every day with my laptop, and working from the hospital room, and then driving home in the afternoon and finishing up if necessary. And he never had a single issue with it. He knew that my family was a priority to me, and as such, it was a priority for him. It makes a world of difference when you know that your leaders have your back!
    That was a great example that I was able to learn from. I’ve read and understood the “Total Person Approach” (that people don’t leave their personal life at the door to work, and that we have to take on the entire person), but this was a good example of someone who really applied it.
    Great post Cranston!

    • He sounds like a great guy.

      Last year a guy on our team’s son was diagnosed with leukemia. He was out much long than the FMLA allowed for. This of course had the potential to hurt our bottom line because his position was a big percentage of our revenue.

      Instead of replacing him we staffed around it. The current members filled in and I hired a new person for the person of helping and the new person new that position was taken when he came back.

      We treated him like family. People fight for family.

  2. Nin Ashmore says:

    Excellent! I love this post. This is a great maxim for pastors, parents, teachers anyone in any leadership capacity. Don’t kick a guy when he’s down!

  3. cherylfoston says:

    wonderful post. I am going to reblog this one. 🙂

  4. cherylfoston says:

    Reblogged this on whatcherylsaid… and commented:
    Reblogged from “How Leaders Manage”

Leave a Reply

