Good Leaders

leadershipquote5

12 thoughts on “Good Leaders

  1. mylesmacbean says:

    True. But good leaders weren’t just “once” good followers, they still are! Leadership is a situational role not a position, and in certain situations we find ourselves as elder or as follower. Invariably the best leaders know how to be great followers, understand what their leader needs for the team to succeed, and ensure it is done.

  2. mylesmacbean says:

    Reblogged this on eclecticmyles and commented:
    A true saying. But more importantly good leaders weren’t just “once” good followers, they still are!

    Leadership is a situational role not a position, and in certain situations we find ourselves as leaders and in other situations as follower.

    Invariably the best leaders know how to be great followers, understand what their leader needs for the team to succeed, and support their leader to ensure it is done.

  3. Okay, my first thought was “Really???” bc I’m not a good follower. But then I thought about it, and I actually am a good follower, I do great at following. Being task oriented, give me direction and off I go!
    I am a good follower.
    I’m a better leader.
    (And this was confirmed in one of the few college classes I took that made a difference, and man, I wish I could remember what the class was, but one team assignment was to work together, and then vote on each person, would you rather work WITH them, or work FOR them. Everyone would rather work FOR me. ) (It took me time – years really – to understand the full implication and be in balance with that!)

    • What you say is true. i’m never ashamed of following one who has done or doing something great!

      And like you said, sometimes following means following a plan, even if you designed it yourself. ; )

  4. John Smith says:

    Reblogged this on THE STRATEGIC LEARNER and commented:
    This is actually a circle, endlessly looping each if us between following and leading. The trick is to know which you should be doing at ant given time …

  5. I have been told many times that I’m a servant leader. I believe the only way to lead is to also follow. Like John Smith says – It’s a circle and it’s how things get done.

  6. Reblogged this on putfathintoaction and commented:
    Truth!

Leave a Reply

