How to be Awesome at EVERYTHING!

talent

How to be Awesome at EVERYTHING!

Terrell Owens was one of the greatest receivers in NFL history.  He is second in receiving yards only to his long time idol Jerry Rice.  T.O. as many people know him by WAS one of the most talented people to ever play the game.  You would imagine that teams would literally fight to get him on their team, with his physical attributes and skill set.  You would also imagine that in this point of his career he could have his pick of TV commentator positions, coaching positions, or any plethora of business deals. This should be a time harvesting for the great T.O.

But to my sadness, it’s not.  Instead of enjoying the fruits of his years of labor he is being cut from the Allen Wranglers, an indoor football team who have since changed their name.  Why is this so? Because he has been marked as having a terrible attitude.  Teams consider him a poison to morale.  They could look past his antics when he was in his prime because he was so talented (for a little while anyway). But when he began to slip, ever so slightly he was told to hit the bricks.

If you have a bad attitude YOU ARE A JERK and people don’t like working with jerks. They don’t listen to jerks. People don’t do favors for jerks. People won’t go the extra mile for jerks because people don’t want jerks to win.

Whether you are a professional athlete or work at a local carpet cleaning business the truth about jerks remains the same. Extraordinary talent and a bad attitude eventually lose out to mediocre talent and a good attitude.

I’ve discovered this in my own life. Being nice will beat out most of your competition.  When I was young I was arrogant and quickly discovered I had to be on top of my game ALL the time to be successful. After a little maturing mentally, (I use the word little with great care) I became nicer. I would be nice to someone who had a harsh word for me. I would go out of my way to speak to people even if I thought they didn’t think highly of me. I wouldn’t just walk by someone who was low on the social ladder. I would be friendly and speak and honestly care.

Being nice has gotten me further in my career, more side jobs, more clients, better employees, on more teams, a better spouse, more friends, and closer personal relationships than any talent I’ve ever possessed could have.

Proverbs 18:1 Unfriendly people care only about themselves;  they lash out at common sense.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “How to be Awesome at EVERYTHING!

  1. ekurie says:

    So wish my son could see this in his live-in unemployed girlfriend. She has begun to drag him down to her level.

  2. I love TO! But yes, his attitude has cost him so much!

  3. […] Cranston Holden wants you to be awesome, although the path might be a little different than you think. In the fashion that only @CranstonHolden can use so honestly he talks about what awesome really is, and the surprise behind getting people to work with – and like – you. Cranston knows firsthand its not as hard as you think: read him to find out why […]

  4. Reblogged this on rollingblogger and commented:
    Good words of advice!!!

  5. ashokbhatia says:

    Well said. It is a quality which goes a long way in keeping our inter-personal relations running smoothly.

Leave a Reply

