Time Thieves

time-thieves-in-business

Everyone has the same amount of time in a day. 24 hours. That’s it. Here is a list of some of the most common culprits:

Busy work – Many times we try to trick ourselves into thinking we are working with paperwork, organizing, or returning emails. We have to know the difference between major and minor priorities.

Smart Phones – This includes online videos, email, texts, dating websites, blogs (I know I know), and all aspects off social media.

Television – The average American watches between 4 -7 hours of tv a day. That is ridiculous.

People who just want to hang out – Spending time with people is actually good for you. It meets social needs, brings happiness, and a sense of well being. Just not when you have things to get done. There is a time and place for spending time with people for the sake of spending time together. Just not during your productive times when you are trying to get something done.

Set boundaries with your time and let nothing interrupt you.

Get the eBooks

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Time Thieves

  1. cbecker53 says:

    My biggest thief is procrastination. I am retired, so I am basically my own boss, but there are times that I should be working on projects. I put them on my “to do” list, and figure out when I *really* need to be at a certain point, and when I *really* need to be done, but so often I say, “well, I don’t need to be at such and such a point until X day. I don’t think I’ll work on it today.”
    Then at night I lie in bed berating myself for not doing more on that project.
    Sigh.

  2. I’ve worked hard to eliminate the busy from my life and it’s been amazing! I love this post!

  3. […] you experience “Time Thieves” which get in the way of your productivity? Cranston Holden shares some thoughts in […]

Leave a Reply

