Don’t Shame People

Wall-of-ShameI absolutely hate going to the dentist. Hate it! Not because of the pain or the money or the time I spend. It’s the hygienist I’ve experienced. There I am sitting in the chair with my mouth wide open and they are scrapping away at whatever disgusting debris that is attached itself to the back of my teeth feeling pretty vulnerable. After they finish and I’m ready to leave I receive a light scolding about flossing more and brushing better.

Wow. My head drops. All the self confidence I had when I walked in the door has dissipated and I don’t even want to make eye contact with the receptionist as I leave. I feel about 3 inches tall. And people wonder why dentists visits are hated and avoided for as long as possible. For me it’s nothing more than a shame session.

So how many of us shame our customers in the same manner? Even worse, how many of us shame our people who work for us?  People respond better when they are shown how to improve without being shammed.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Shame People

  1. Your observations are spot on. Too many ‘leaders’ in corporate life think that shaming others is a way to establish their superiority.

  2. cherylfoston says:

    Great use of the dentist! I totally agree with the comment by “Corporate Life.” Great post as usual!

Leave a Reply

